R.I.P. Badasses

Time waits for no man, as the asshole says, and I suppose it catches up with even the absolute most amazingest of us.

My tally for this year:

Alan Rickman

David Bowie

rip_david_bowie_and_alan_rickman_by_forestina_fotos-d9nwjk6.jpg

Presenting…

Gene Wilder.

What a bullshit year this is turning out to be, in terms of losing amazing people (and, apparently, my definition of amazing is singer / actor). I remember when the most devastating loss for me was Johnny Cash. Now, I get three in one year, not to mention some badass family members, too? Bullshit.

It’s a shitty reminder of our own mortality. It’s an awesome reminder to drink it all in. Drink. It. In. Baby.

If you’re reading this, you most likely have loved ones who you care about and who care about you. Don’t forget to take a moment to reflect on how badass they are, what they’ve done to contribute to your own badassedness, and tell ’em you love ’em.

And, for my money, I’ll be watching Young Frankenstein (Frank-en-steen!) tonight while a single tear rolls down my check and faint violin music plays from somewhere in my dank, dreary castle. Now here’s an image a stole and will probably, one day, be sued over:

genewilder-1

3 thoughts on “R.I.P. Badasses”

  1. This made me question what celebrity’s death would affect me…who is MY badass? It may be an odd choice, but I’d pick Dolly Parton. I ain’t gonna lie. I hope I have sent no jinxes into the world.

    Would you believe I have never seen anything with GW in it?

    Like

  2. It’s totally believable! I grew up on Mel Brooks movies and Willy Wonka (to name only a few). I also spent a lot of time watching TNT and TCM and other stations owned by Ted Turner, which often played bad 80s movies like “Hear No Evil, See No Evil” (Richard Pryor is deaf, Gene Wilder is blind… or maybe the other way around). It is a little astounding that you haven’t seen Willy Wonka and I’d take that over the twisted Tim Burton version any day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

